Dr. Julian Jaursch

Project Director “Strengthening the digital public sphere”

Julian Jaursch is head of the project “Strengthening digital public spheres”. In this capacity, he analyzes and evaluates existing approaches to strengthen digital public spheres and identifies potential regulatory measures to protect them. The project aims to devise concrete policy proposals for political and civil society decision-makers.

Prior to this, Julian had already worked on topics of digitization, digital politics and data protection. Most recently, he coordinated a dialogue with multiple federal ministries, companies and civil society organizations to establish new educational offers on various digital topics. He had previously led a know-your-rights campaign at a Berlin-based NGO that dealt with EU data protection rights, which not only explained these rights to citizens but also enabled and encouraged them to use their rights. During his tenure at a political consultancy, he supported companies and associations with developing and executing their political communications and lobbying strategies.

Julian completed a journalism degree and has worked as an intern and freelancer in various editorial offices in Germany and the US. In the TransAtlantic Masters Program at the University of North Carolina, Humboldt University Berlin and Free University Berlin, he focused of European studies. His PhD in political science, for which he conducted research at Free University Berlin and Columbia University, explored US states’ transatlantic relations.

Email address: 
jjaursch@stiftung-nv.de
Telephone: 
+49 (0)30 81 45 03 78 93

Dr. Julian Jaursch

Projektleiter "Stärkung digitaler Öffentlichkeit | Policy"

Julian Jaursch ist Leiter des Projekts „Stärkung digitaler Öffentlichkeit“. Im Rahmen dessen analysiert und evaluiert er bestehende Ansätze, wie digitale Öffentlichkeit gestärkt werden kann, und identifiziert mögliche regulatorische Maßnahmen zu deren Schutz. Ziel des Projekts ist es, konkrete Handlungsempfehlungen für politische und gesellschaftliche Entscheidungsträger:innen zu entwickeln.

Bereits zuvor hatte Julian zu den Themen Digitalisierung, Netzpolitik und Datenschutz gearbeitet. Er koordinierte zuletzt einen Dialog zur Förderung neuer Aufklärungsangebote zu verschiedenen Themen der Digitalisierung, an dem sich mehrere Bundesministerien, Unternehmen und zivilgesellschaftliche Organisationen beteiligten. Davor leitete er in einer Berliner NGO ein Projekt zu den EU-Datenschutzregeln, das Verbraucher:innen nicht nur ihre Rechte erläutert, sondern sie auch zu deren Nutzung befähigt und ermuntert. Während seiner mehrjährigen Tätigkeit in einer Politikberatung hatte er Unternehmen und Verbände bei der Entwicklung und Umsetzung politischer Kommunikations- und Lobbyingstrategien unterstützt.

Julian hat ein Journalismusstudium abgeschlossen und als Praktikant und freier Mitarbeiter in diversen Redaktionen in Deutschland und den USA gearbeitet. Im TransAtlantic Masters Program der University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, der Humboldt-Universität und der Freien Universität Berlin befasste er sich mit Europäischen Studien. Seine politikwissenschaftliche Promotion, für die er an der Freien Universität Berlin und der Columbia University forschte, drehte sich um die transatlantischen Beziehungen der US-Bundesstaaten.

PGP: 03F0 31FC C1A6 F7EF 8648 D1A9 E9BE 5E49 20F0 FA4C

E-Mailadresse: 
jjaursch@stiftung-nv.de
Telephone: 
+49 (0)30 81 45 03 78 93
Auf Twitter: 
@jjaursch