Dr. Sven Herpig

Project Director "International Cyber Security Policy"

Sven Herpig is project director for international cyber security policy. This includes the transatlantic expert network Transatlantic Cyber Forum (TCF), the EU Cyber Direct (EUCD) project funded by the European Commission as well as an ongoing analysis of German cyber security policies.

Sven’s current focal areas include attacks on machine learning applications, the resiliency strategy of the European Union, government hacking and vulnerability management best practices, security measures for protecting elections as well as the German cyber security architecture and policies.

Since the start of his academic career, Sven’s focus was the intersection of cyberspace and international relations. He conducted research inter alia on the application of social constructivism to discourse on the Internet, Internet governance by states and the strategic implications of cyber operations - his PhD work.

On the side, Sven works as Lecturer. His latest seminar focused on cyber strategies in the international context, taught 2017 at the Center for Global Studies, University of Bonn.

Before Sven set up the TCF, he was working with the federal government for several years. First, we worked with the IT security staff at the Federal Foreign Office. He then became deputy of the cyber security and society unit at the Federal Office for Information Security where he headed the internal negotiations for the federal cyber security strategy 2016 as single point of contact.

Sven served as technical expert in a hearing on IT security for the committee of the interior and homeland of the German parliament. He also served as German expert for the EU DG for Internal Policies Study on government hacking, presented inter alia at the US Congressional Cybersecurity Caucus, the European Parliament, the United Nations Interregional Crime and Justice Research Institute and the Employee Association for Foreign and Security Policy in the German Parliament.

He regularly appears in German, American and EU media and presents at international expert workshops and conferences.

Sven is member of the Security and Integrity Initiative for the protection of elections organized by the Federal Office for Information Security as well as member of Economic Council's federal working group on cyber security.

Email address: 
sherpig@stiftung-nv.de
Telephone: 
+49 (0)30 81 45 03 78 91
On Twitter: 
@z_edian
Expertise: 

Expertise: International Cyber Security Policy

Dr. Sven Herpig

Leiter Transatlantisches Cyber-Forum

Sven Herpig ist Leiter des Transatlantic Cyber Forums (TCF) und bringt dort die Expert:innen von beiden Seiten des Atlantiks zu allen Facetten der Innen-, Sicherheits- und Verteidigungspolitik im Cyber-Raum zusammen. Im Rahmen des EU Cyber Direct (EUCD) Projekts analysiert er die Cyber Resilienz-Politik der Europäischen Union sowie die diplomatischen Beziehungen zwischen der EU und den USA im Cyberraum.

Bei der SNV befasst Sven sich vorrangig mit Standards für staatliches Hacken (u. a. dem “Bundestrojaner”), IT-Schwachstellenmanagement, der deutschen Cyber-Sicherheitsarchitektur, sowie dem Schutz politischer IT-Infrastrukturen und demokratischer Prozesse vor (ausländischen) Cyber-Operationen.

Sven hat sich seit dem Beginn seiner akademischen Ausbildung mit der Schnittmenge von Cyber-Raum und internationalen Beziehungen beschäftigt. Hierzu gehören die Anwendung der Konstruktivismus-Theorie auf Diskurse im Internet, staatliche Möglichkeiten zur Regulierung des Internets, sowie die strategische Bedeutung von staatlichen Cyber-Operationen – seine Promotionsarbeit.

Sven ist nebenher als Lehrbeauftragter tätig, zuletzt im Sommersemester 2017 am Center for Global Studies der Universität Bonn mit dem Thema “Cyber-Strategien in den internationalen Beziehungen”.

Bevor er zur SNV kam, arbeitete Sven mehrere Jahre bei deutschen Bundesbehörden im Bereich IT-Sicherheit. Zuerst als Mitarbeiter des Stabs IT-Sicherheit im Auswärtigen Amt und danach als stellvertretender Referatsleiter für Cyber-Sicherheit in der Gesellschaft beim Bundesamt für Sicherheit in der Informationstechnik. Bei dieser Verwendung war er unter anderem als Single-Point-of-Contact für die interne Abstimmung der Cyber-Sicherheitsstrategie für Deutschland 2016 zuständig.

Sven war einer der deutschen Expert:innen in der EU DG for Internal Policies Studie zu staatlichem Hacken, briefte unter anderem den US Congressional Cybersecurity Caucus, eine Task Force im Europäischen Parlament, die Außen- und Sicherheitspolitische Vereinigung der Parlamentsmitarbeiter:innen im deutschen Bundestag sowie Teilnehmer:innen beim United Nations Interregional Crime and Justice Research Institute zu deutscher und internationaler Cyber-Sicherheitspolitik.

Er wird regelmäßig in deutschen, amerikanischen und anderen europäischen Medien interviewt und präsentiert seine Themen in nationalen und internationalen Expert:innenworkshops und Konferenzen.

E-Mailadresse: 
sherpig@stiftung-nv.de
Telephone: 
+49 (0)30 81 45 03 78 91
Auf Twitter: 
@z_edian
Expertise: 

Expertise: Cyber-Sicherheitsstrategien, Cyber-Verteidigungspolitik, Lawful Hacking, Cyber-Sicherheit