Jan-Peter Kleinhans

Project Director "Technology and Geopolitics"

Jan-Peter Kleinhans is head of the Technology and Geopolitics topic area since 2020. His focus is on the analysis of semiconductors as a strategic asset, how resilient the global semiconductor value chain is to external shocks and how Europe's competitiveness can be strengthened. 

Jan-Peter has identified the strategic relevance of semiconductors through his work on mobile network security (2018-2020), in particular 5G security and the issue of the trustworthiness of network equipment vendors. He presented his work on 5G security to the Foreign Affairs Committee of the German Bundestag and the NATO Parliamentary Assembly, among others. 

Jan-Peter has been working at SNV since 2014 and was responsible for the topic area of IT security in the Internet of Things. The aim of the project was to better understand why the market fails to produce sufficiently trustworthy IoT devices for consumers. It examined whether and how standardization, certification and market surveillance can create economic incentives for IoT manufacturers to produce secure and trustworthy IoT devices.  

Jan-Peter is Fellow of the Transatlantic Digital Debates 2016. He studied communication sciences in Uppsala, Sweden and business informatics in Darmstadt.

Telephone: 
+49 (0)30 81 45 03 78 99
On Twitter: 
@JPKleinhans
Expertise: 

Internet of Things Security, 5G, Mobile Communication, Industrial Espionage, IT Security Certification

Jan-Peter Kleinhans

Projektleiter "Technologie und Geopolitik"

Jan-Peter Kleinhans leitet seit 2020 den Themenbereich Technologie und Geopolitik. Sein Fokus liegt dabei auf der Analyse von Halbleitern als strategisches Gut, wie resilient die globale Halbleiter-Wertschöpfungskette gegenüber externen Schocks ist und wie die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit Europas gestärkt werden kann. 

Die strategische Relevanz von Halbleitern hat Jan-Peter durch seine Arbeit zu Mobilfunksicherheit (2018-2020), insbesondere 5G-Sicherheit und der Frage der Vertrauenswürdigkeit von Netzausrüstern, erkannt. Er stellte seine Arbeit zum Thema 5G-Sicherheit unter anderem vor dem Auswärtigen Ausschuss des Deutschen Bundestages und der Parlamentarischen Versammlung der NATO vor. 

Jan-Peter arbeitet seit 2014 bei der SNV und verantwortete den Themenbereich IT-Sicherheit im Internet der Dinge. Ziel des Projektes war es besser zu verstehen, warum der Markt versagt, ausreichend vertrauenswürdige IoT-Geräte für Verbraucher:innen herzustellen. Er untersuchte, ob und wie Standardisierung, Zertifizierung und Marktüberwachung ökonomische Anreize für IoT-Hersteller schaffen können, sichere und vertrauenswürdige IoT-Geräte herzustellen.  

Jan-Peter ist Fellow der Transatlantic Digital Debates 2016. Er studierte Kommunikationswissenschaften in Uppsala, Schweden und Wirtschaftsinformatik in Darmstadt. 

Telephone: 
+49 (0)30 81 45 03 78 99
Auf Twitter: 
@JPKleinhans
Expertise: 

Internet of Things Security, 5G, Mobile Communication, Industrial Espionage, IT Security Certification