Alexandra Paulus

Fellow

Alexandra Paulus is non-resident fellow for international cyber security policy and focuses on norms for cybersecurity.

Alexandra currently pursues her PhD in International Relations at Chemnitz University of Technology in Germany, analyzing how regional powers shape the construction of norms for responsible state behavior in cyberspace with case studies of Brazil and Turkey. She has presented her work at international conferences in Brazil, Germany, Israel, and Turkey.

Prior to commencing her PhD, Alexandra was deputy head of the Konrad Adenauer Foundation Brazil office in Rio de Janeiro for two years. Before that, she worked at the German Bundestag, the private sector and Mexican and Guatemalan non-governmental organizations.

Alexandra volunteers as an editor with Women in International Security Germany (WIIS.de) and is an active member of the Konrad Adenauer Foundation’s Working Group of Young Foreign Policy Experts and of the graduate school Security and Development Policy in the 21st Century.

Email address: 
apaulus@stiftung-nv.de
On Twitter: 
@ale_paulus
Expertise: 

Cyber norms, comparative cyber security and cyber defense policy, cybersecurity policies of regional powers.

Alexandra Paulus

Fellow

Alexandra Paulus ist Non-Resident Fellow für Internationale Cybersicherheitspolitik. Sie beschäftigt sich mit internationalen Normen für Cybersicherheit. 

Alexandra ist Doktorandin an der TU Chemnitz im Fach Internationale Beziehungen. In ihrer Promotion untersucht sie, welche Rolle Regionalmächte in den Entwicklungsprozessen internationaler Cybersicherheitsnormen spielen und konzentriert sich dabei auf Brasilien und die Türkei. Sie hat ihre Forschung auf internationalen Konferenzen in Brasilien, Deutschland, Israel und der Türkei vorgestellt. 

Vor ihrer Promotion war Alexandra zwei Jahre lang beigeordnete Büroleiterin des Auslandsbüros Brasilien der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung in Rio de Janeiro. Zuvor sammelte sie Arbeitserfahrung im Bundestag, im Privatsektor und in Nicht-Regierungsorganisationen in Mexiko und Guatemala.

Alexandra engagiert sich als Redakteurin bei Women in International Security Germany (WIIS.de), im Arbeitskreis Junge Außenpolitiker der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung und ist Mitglied im Promotionskolleg Sicherheit und Entwicklung im 21. Jahrhundert.

E-Mailadresse: 
apaulus@stiftung-nv.de
Auf Twitter: 
@ale_paulus
Expertise: 

Cyber-Normen, vergleichende Cybersicherheits- und -verteidigungspolitik, Cybersicherheitspolitik von Regionalmächten